The Sky Is Falling and Bad Things Always Happen in Threes

13 Jun

That’s right. The sky ceiling was falling in the spare bedroom. You know, the one with the teal ceiling and fan?

We knew that the ceiling would need to be replaced when we bought the PM. Someone had stepped through it at some point. The cracks stretched from one corner to the other. I had noticed that the crack seemed to be getting bigger but we really weren’t to worried about it. Why you ask? Well, we had noticed these little thermostats in a few of the rooms and were told by our very knowledgeable neighbor, Mr. A, they were thermostats for radiant in ceiling heating. Basically that meant that there were coils ran through the drywall that clad the ceiling and we figured that was what held it up. We left for our daily trip to Lowes to get a few supplies for the kitchen and to exchange yet another weed eater. We haven’t been having good luck with them. I suppose it could have something to do with the fact we are surrounded by weeds and not grass. Anyway, when we got home Brian got out the weed eater for assembly and noticed that even though we bought it new, it was refurbished. So back to Lowes he went and I headed into the kitchen to sand some drywall seams. I decided to open the front door to let in some light and as I passed the hallway I glanced down it. I stopped thinking, “What the heck has the Zeus, the cat, gotten into?” I quickly realized that he had not gotten into anything. The debris in the hallway was insulation. I slowly walked down the hall, smirking to myself. I knew what had happened. I just didn’t know the extent of the damage.

The Reagans Rock, Drywall, Ceiling, Insulation

See, Zeus didn’t do that!

The Reagans Rock, Drywall, Ceiling, Insulation

Notice how even though there is tons of insulation on the floor it’s still compressed into the rafters?

The Reagans Rock, Drywall, Ceiling, Insulation

The Reagans Rock, Drywall, Ceiling, Insulation
As you can see, we were using this room as sort of a storage area for all the boxes we haven’t had a chance to open. Insulation is a nasty thing ladies and gents. It gets into every nook and cranny and man does it itch!

Needless to say, our plans of working on the kitchen last weekend were no where near executed because we were cleaning up insulation and drywall that was almost 2 inches thick. YES, I said 2 inches thick. This stuff was so heavy I couldn’t even lift a 2 x 2 ft square of it. Not only was it heavy, but we also had to use wire snips to separate it. The coils were actually wires so once a piece broke, it was still held together by wires. It only took us 3 hours to clean up the mess and since the Accord and Celica don’t haul drywall very well, arranged to borrow my Step Dad’s truck.

Saturday we headed over to Home Depot to get the 5/8ths Sheetrock my Dad recommended for ceilings and to rent a Drywall Lifter. We had a 10% off coupon and since this little project was unexpected, we needed all the savings help we could get. With a little help from my cousin, Tristan, and the nifty Drywall Lifter we had the ceiling replaced by Saturday evening. Here is the ceiling now.

The Reagans Rock, Ceiling, Drywall, Sheetrock
I think it is worth mentioning that Home Depot carries the Sheetrock brand drywall and I really think taping and mudding this is going to be a snap. Why you ask? See those indentations on the edges? Those areas are intentionally lowered to allow a space for your mud and tape and should make it easier to sand down. I really wish we had used this brand for the kitchen but I will just use flat paint to hide any minor humps or bumps. Needless to say, we will be buying Sheetrock brand for any future drywall projects we have.

Bad Things Happen in Threes

I never really believed this old wives tale but honestly this year has made me a believer.

This year’s first round of three bad things in one week:

Bad Thing 1: I had an allergic reaction to a face wash causing me to look like I had gotten a facial in a nest of no less than 300 mosquitoes and had to get my first ever cortisone shot.

Bad Thing 2: Maddux found a seam in the carpet of the apartment’s spare bedroom. He didn’t like it there so he pulled it up. He then dug up the padding to make himself a bed. There went the deposit.

Bad Thing 3: Maddux was startled by a neighbors slamming door, headbutted me, and I wound up having to get a gash in my eyelid glued back together at the ER.

Last week, we had another round of bad things.

Bad Thing 1: Grandpa G was admitted into the hospital because of major dehydration. He is finally out and feeling much better now. (Chug chug chug water people. It’s HOT out there!)

Bad Thing 2: The ceiling fell in.

Bad Thing 3: The Accord decided it needed a new radiator.

I really am hoping our luck changes because we are trending for a quarterly bad things week and I am not sure I can handle that much bad!  Happy thoughts!

Leave a Reply

