It’s Been A Long Time…

18 Oct

…we shouldn’t have left you, without a dope beat to step to… Now that I’ve got that lyric outta my head let me update you on why we’ve been gone so long!

First… I’m a bad blogger. You see, I blog for my job and that takes up at least 2-3 hrs a day. Then I get side tracked on projects we have going on here which I will cover in just a few moments. By the time B gets home, it’s time for dinner and a little relax time and I try very hard to make that time a no computer time. That means that this little ole blog get’s neglected. That being said, B has announced he’d like to help with the blogging so I am going to show him how it’s done therefore you’ll be hearing from him too in the very near future! I’m sure there will be some embarrassing moments for me ’cause he’d love nothing more and it’s one of the things he LOVES to do. Truth be told, it makes for some really good stories. Now that the announcement has been made, let me update you on what we’ve got going on!

You remember the living room, right?

Living Room

Living Room

Living Room

Sorry for the bad iPhone photos…We knew the ceiling was sagging when we bought the house and that it would have to be replaced. Once the bedroom ceiling fell we realized what a monster we were dealing with. The CeilHeat, radiant heating plastered into the drywall, made it 2 or 3 times as heavy as normal drywall would have been and since it was just nailed up there, it was working it’s way out. We knew it was only a matter of time until we came home and found the living room ceiling in the floor so now that the kitchen is 98% complete (I PROMISE photos very very soon) this was the next priority. Have I mentioned that we really had it in our minds to paint this Pink Monster this year… since it’s almost November… I don’t see that happening.

So I called up a contractor to get a quote to remove the ceiling in the living room area and the hall. The hall had been dropped down to accommodate duct work back when the HVAC had originally been installed but had been at some point abandoned and since a 7ft hallway can really make you feel claustrophobic, I wanted it back to the normal 8ft.

You can kind of see the drop in this photo. Anyway the contractor came by and gave us a quote for just removing the ceiling in those two areas. B and I had decided we’d tackle putting everything back to save a little bit of money. The quote came back much higher than expected and so we decided to save ourselves about 2K by doing the demo ourselves. We called up Waste Management and had this baby delivered!

We have basically filled this up with drywall, 2×4’s, and bags and bags of blown in insulation. This is what it looked like half way through the removal.

Did I mention there were 2 and sometimes 3 layers of drywall on this ceiling?! What the What people! Do not add layer upon layer, do it right even if it’s the messiest job on the planet, Okay?! I should also mention that we wore massive respirators, gloves, goggles, and painting suites to keep us save during all this. Safety first! You’re lungs and eyes will thank you later.

Notice anything aside from the ceiling mess? If you guessed ‘you removed the brick half walls with trim divided that the room into unmanageable space’ you are RIGHT! Yipee! The living area is so roomy now! So ready to see what we have in mind for this space?

How about….

Living Room Inspiration, Rustic, Quilts, Leather, Stripes, Rugs, Gray, Grey, Brown, The Reagans Rock

Sources for all images above can be found here on my The Living Room Plan Board on Pinterest.

Let’s see if we can get this pulled off by Christmas, shall we?! Well actually we are hopping most everything will be done by Thanksgiving. We are having our very first Thanksgiving at home this year and we couldn’t be more excited! Anyway I’m off to work on the other 2% of the kitchen this afternoon and I really do plan on having photos very very soon! Happy Tuesday everyone!

Leave a Reply

