Fall Pinterest Challenge: A Painted Rug

2 Nov

It’s that time again! Look at me following the directions this time. I love Sherry’s, of YHL, description of the idea:

‘The Pinterest Challenge (not sponsored by Pinterest or anyone else, just dreamed up by Katie to make us stop pinning and start doing).’

Last time, I didn’t quite make the deadline but since I finished up this bad boy last week and the idea just happened to come from Pinterest… I think it works.

Image via YHL.

The Pinsperation:

Red Patterned RugThis lovely rug from Anthropologie. 8 X 10 for $1,200 smackaroos! Wow…

I love the pattern but

  1. the white background wasn’t going to work with beast 1 – 3 that live with us
  2. I wanted a smaller scale pattern
  3. Did I mention it’s $1,200?

I already had a rug that needed some flair. We got it as a remnant and used it in the condo living room. It’s a grey very low pile rug and is the perfect size for our soon to be seating area in the living room. I had seen where many people had been painting rugs so I thought I’d give it a try. Here’s my rug

Here’s what you need:

  1. pattern inspiration
  2. paint, I used acrylic craft paint and also bought the fabric medium to make it ‘washable’ not that I’ll ever ‘wash’ it but it just might need a steam clean so I thought this would be smart to do.
  3. poster board, thick card stock, or stencil blanks
  4. Razor knife
  5. Stencil or stipple brush
  6. Container for paint
  7. Aluminum foil wrapped plate or a paper plate (you just need some place to blot off extra paint)

First I blew up the pattern in Photoshop and printed it out.

I traced the pattern onto my poster board and cut it out with a razor knife.

Maddux tried to help with finding the center but he’s no good at it…

I mixed my paint, found my center of the rug, and worked from the inside out. I couldn’t be bothered with measuring out each square placement. I just eyeballed it and honestly I love the non-perfect look. I’m so type A, but I’m working on getting over it.

Here’s how it looks all finished! I have a few spots to touch up but I am going to wait until I see how everything sits in the room.

Total cost for the project: $22 (not including the cost of the rug because I had it on hand)! Want to see why my living room is such a mess…

We’ve been doing a little HVAC re-routing, insulating, and getting lights wired up. Hopefully we will be finishing up insulation tonight so that I can move on to painting, tiling the hearth, getting the fireplace refaced, re trimming, adding drywall to the fireplace and patching the hallway… Did I mention that this all has to be done by Thanksgiving…. Good grief we’ve got a lot to do!

19 Responses to “Fall Pinterest Challenge: A Painted Rug”

  1. Lacey November 2, 2011 at 3:22 pm #

    Wow! I love how that turned out!!

  2. Laura O November 2, 2011 at 3:30 pm #

    Love this! Great idea!!

  3. Jenna November 2, 2011 at 4:06 pm #

    I love this! I’ve been contemplating painting a rug, but haven’t quite worked up the courage. You did a great job. Thanks for sharing!

    • thereagansrock November 2, 2011 at 4:16 pm #

      I was worried about how the poster stencil would work but it held up and we love the way it turned out! Thanks for all the love ladies!

  4. kate November 2, 2011 at 4:14 pm #

    Maddox is ADORABLE! 🙂

    Love how your rug turned out! I was eyeing that same Anthro rug for a long time and the price tag was too crazy for me too! Love your solution!

    • thereagansrock November 2, 2011 at 6:09 pm #

      Kate, your bullies are too cute! There’s never a dull moment around here with Maddux. He’s a complete disaster but we love dearly.

  5. Ainhoa November 2, 2011 at 4:33 pm #

    The rug is gorgeous! I love the pattern you used.

  6. Elena November 2, 2011 at 4:46 pm #

    This is amazing! Great work!

  7. Paige November 2, 2011 at 5:23 pm #

    That looks amazing! Great work!

  8. Sarah November 2, 2011 at 8:56 pm #

    Ah this looks so good! Was the stencil hard to cut out? I really want to do something like this but couldn’t figure out how to create a good stencil…

    • thereagansrock November 2, 2011 at 9:10 pm #

      Sarah, I just used a utility knife with a brand new blade and it turned out great. I made sure to have an extra piece of poster under my stencil while cutting to keep me from scratching the table underneath.

  9. Dawn November 2, 2011 at 9:05 pm #

    AWESOME stencil, you totally gave this drab rug a lift! 🙂

  10. michelle November 2, 2011 at 10:59 pm #

    Nice work! This rug is beautiful! Love that you have a DIY helper too!

  11. cre8tivedesigns November 2, 2011 at 11:29 pm #

    Wow, is all I can say! The link really stood out to me when I saw it on YHL link party. Awesome job, so unique and so Anthro {but without the price tag} Hope you get your room back soon, it doesn’t look like fun, but it will be so worth it in the end.

  12. Catharine @ Your Modern Couple November 3, 2011 at 10:54 am #

    SO pretty! I bought a plain white rug to paint or dye, but I’m SO nervous! you’ve inspired me to get started! Thanks 🙂

    • thereagansrock November 3, 2011 at 3:24 pm #

      Glad I could give you that extra push to get painting!

  13. Mendi November 3, 2011 at 12:19 pm #

    That turned out great!!

    You link caught my eye as I have been swooning over the Anthropologie rug. I saw a knock off at World Market but it just wasn’t the same.

    Thanks for the inspiration

  14. Amelia November 4, 2011 at 2:37 pm #

    Really nice work! Well done!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Finally The Kitchen Reveal! « - March 9, 2012

    […] Find out about the Rug here. […]

Leave a Reply

