Finally The Kitchen Reveal!

9 Mar

And finally I have come up for air for just a few moments to pop in and share our kitchen photos! Now, it’s not completely finished but we’re close. Before I show you how it turned out, we need to remember how BAD it was.

We’ve still got a few things to do like:

  • finish the crown molding
  • patch where the florescent light used to be
  • paint the ceiling
  •  create a box for the top of the pendant lights
  • install the threshold
  • style the shelves
  • add some more decor

Here’s what we actually did do:

  • removed and replaced the counters
  • removed all the cabinets, stripped, primed, re-painted them, then reinstalled
  • created two open shelf areas under the counters, one specifically for the microwave
  • turned one of the metal cabinets that was missing it’s drawer section into a moving island for extra storage and counter space where I need it.
  • removed and replaced the old dishwasher and stove
  • removed and replaced the flooring & subfloor
  • removed & replaced all the drywall which also involved mud, tape, and lots of sanding & dust. YUCK!
  • rewired the entire kitchen
  • installed a board and batten style backsplash
  • installed 3 recessed lights
  • made 3 pendant lamps and installed them
  • installed crown molding
  • removed and replaced all the window trim
  • built a custom fridge surround in the board and batten style
  • primed and painted walls, trim, backsplash, & fridge surround
  • installed floating shelves above the sink & added jute upholstery webbing to the fronts
  • printed custom art on linen and hung it with wooden pant hangers on wooden drawer pulls

I’m sure I’m forgetting somethings in that list up there but those are the major things.

Two of my favorite things about this kitchen are in this photo. One is the Kitchen Aid mixer I’ve been dreaming of owning for years. My mom surprised me with it for this past Christmas. Second is the coffee mug rack. We found this piece of wood up in the attic when we removed the ceiling in the living room. It was a rafter that broke while they were building the house and rather than tossing it, they just left it up there. I’m so glad they did. I added the ribbon ends with the jig saw, sanded it, and sprayed it with several coats of water based poly to seal up anything yucky. I found the hooks at Lowes.

Ignore that sagging jute webbing up there… I told you we still had some things to finish up, right? I LOVE my glass canisters. I grabbed them up at the dreaded WalMart. They were inexpensive and had the look I wanted. The scoops inside came from a local restaraunt supply store. The Saltines canister is a flea market find and it’s really the whole inspiration for this kitchen.

Here’s a close up of the main base cabinet. I just love the color we chose, Beryl by Martha Stewart,  and that little ‘hood ornament’ style detail, yeah she’s the one inspired the red accents.

Here’s a close up of the pendants. We used cloth wire found at Sundial Wire, a ceramic bulb socket from Lowes, and an Edison style bulb from 1,ooobulbs.com. This photo doesn’t even come close to doing this bulb justice. For those of you NEEDING these bulbs, I found them at my local Lowes recently.

I call this the Microwave & beverage side.

Here’s another front shot.

And finally the stove & prep side. See my little island/cart to the left of the range. It’s just too cute. I made the spice rack using a pallet we found behind the local Walgreens. Yeah, that’s right. Brian went in, asked if we could have it, they thought we were crazy, and I though we’d struck gold. I sanded it down and added several coats of water based poly to seal it. I then screwed some Ikea Bygel baskets to the wood. We purchased the glass bottles at Ikea but have since found I prefer the bottles that Super Target brand Archer Farms spices are sold it. So I’ll be gradually converting over to them. I’m sure I can find a use for the others somewhere else. We used basket storage under both of the open self cabinets. It keeps all my dry goods out of the way but still within reach.

So there you have it! Our kitchen in all it’s ALMOST finished glory. We are just thrilled with the way it turned out. Who would of guessed something so nasty could turn into something so pretty?!

More Before/After posts here.

Find out about the Rug here.

More about the cabinets here.

3 Responses to “Finally The Kitchen Reveal!”

  1. April October 14, 2012 at 6:28 pm #

    Hi, I’ve stumbled across your blog while trying to figure out what we should do for our kitchen reno. We also, have metal cabinets, they are in great sturdy condition, but we’d like a new color. Do you have a post on your blog about what materials you used to re-finish them, and also any tips and tricks? We’re DIY’ers too, but this task seems overwhelming!

    Thanks in advance!

    • thereagansrock October 15, 2012 at 12:30 pm #

      Hey April! Glad to know some other DIYers are tackling vintage cabinets too. To be honest, the hardest part was removing the 3 or 4 layers of paint before we rust treated them and painted them. Because the previous paint jobs were so poor we had to strip them all the way down. We found the best, but not easy or fast, way to do it was to remove most of the paint with an angle grinder and stripping pads (Harbor freight has the best prices on the pads). Then we removed the corner and smaller areas with a sand blaster. If we had it to do all over again, I’d hire the stripping part out. As DIYers you have to know when your time is more valuable that hiring out the job and this was one of those learining things. It took us over 3 weeks to strip 6 base cabinets. We work day jobs so that was weekends and some evenings. It just wasn’t worth the money we saved when you calculate in the cost of the 15 or so pads, the sand, and physical injuries caused by that stupid grinder. LOL! If you’d like to know more about the paint or rust remover you can check out these posts. Our Kitchen Cabinets: The Best Made Plans Part I and Part II. Thanks for stopping by and good luck!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Easy Art DIY « - February 21, 2013

    […] You just push it right into the hole and as long as you haven’t hit a stud, it’ll go right in and be ready to hang your frame/art/mirror or whatever. Just so you know how amazing these thing are, I’ve got three yes only three holding up our HEAVY pallet spice rack in the kitchen. […]

Leave a Reply

