Perspective: Update

3 Oct

So since we’re coming up on our October 20th drop date for our goals I thought I’d update you on where we are.

First let me share this. My girlfriend and I were chatting last night. She’s been going through a lot of stress having a home renovated before purchasing it and it has been more than challenging. She and I were chatting about our perspective and how when you feel overwhelmed, stressed, or just off it’s helpful to think about those things we are thankful for. I realized that I’m a skeptic. I view things in life in negatives more than positives. I’m pretty sure I was born a skeptic and I’ve had that perspective on life for as long as I can remember. I turned 30 this year and I’d love to know how one  conversation at a Mexican restaurant can reveal so much about my personality when 30 years of experience hadn’t brought it to my attention. The funny thing is, I have no problem talking about positives and glass half full stuff with friends in trouble, but with myself is a different story.

All this is to say that from now on I’ll be making a more clear effort on how to make things better, how to be thankful, how to see all the good and positive in my life. I’m going to put more positive energy out there. I am going to will myself into being a thankful positive person rather than a skeptic.

With that said, here’s the update on my perspective post:

UPDATE: Even thought we will continue to work on projects here at the house, we’re not going to measure our success using our project ‘to do list’ any more.

Here are mine:

  1. Wake up and start my day no later than 7am each M-TR. Okay well 7:30
  2. Walk/Run Maddux every day. Not met this one yet… Poor Maddux!
  3. Launch a new business idea by Sept 1st. As per my last post, I have a full time job so this one is a wash.
  4. Get library card and begin reading books on my book list. CHECK
  5. Make a list of current ‘Lindsey’ projects and finish them before I begin any new ones. See below. 
  6. Find a gym I like, get a membership, and begin my training program. Not happened just yet thanks to the 40 hr work week. 
  7. Reach my wedding day weight by our anniversary. LOL, I’ve got 18 days and honestly I don’t see this one happening. 
  8. Plan at least two date nights a month with Brian outside of the house. CHECK We actually went out of town for a few days last month and this month is our anniversary!
  9. Plan at least one lunch/girls night with my friends each month. I’ve been doing so much better with this. Love, love, love seeing my girls. 

Here’s the projects I’ve started and not finished:

  1. Curtains for the new Sunroom shelves. (The last panel is in the wash right now!)
  2. Ikea BJURSTA buffet update. We need the storage but the style is just too modern. (I’m halfway thru this update.)
  3. Polly/Wax Dining Room table & benches. (I’ve got one coat on the table top but it needs at least 3 more.)

Here’s Brian’s list:

  1. Wake up at 5:30 each M-TR. He’s doing better for sure. Not quite 5:30 though. 🙂
  2. Begin application process & obtain study materials for PE (Professional Engineering) exam in April. CHECK
  3. Organize the tool room & maintain the organization. (Finding tools is a nightmare right now.) Getting a dumpster in the next month or so to get this all straightened out. 
  4. Find a gym he likes and get a membership or get a home gym set up. (We don’t look for the same things in a gym so even though there’s usually a family discount, we don’t always go to the same one. He also prefers home gyms while I MUST have a great spin class.) Again not quite there on this one but we’ll get something figured out very soon!
  5. Reach his wedding day weight by our anniversary. Again… LOL. He’s lost more than I have but we’ve got a ways to go for sure. 

Both of us want to:

  1. Have at least two backyard BBQ’s here before the weather gets too cold. Finishing the Living room this week and hopefully set this up in the next few weeks!
  2. Get back on a clean diet. We’ve been eating junk for a year and it’s time to get back on track. It’s crazy how good you feel when you eat clean and when you fall off the wagon it’s hard to get back on. We’ll be implementing our Sunday is Grill Day method. We cook all our protein for the work days on Sunday night, that way dinner is as easy as steaming or grilling some veggies and heating up our lean protein. This also makes packing our lunch each night easier too. UPDATE: I’ve recently subscribed to The Fresh 20 and am loving the recipes so far. I haven’t had an opportunity to do the full week because our schedules have been so busy but I’m shooting for next week to be a full week. The recipes we’ve had so far were DELISH! The idea is you keep 20 items on hand at all times, you shop for 20 items each week and the recipes will feed 4 people 5 dinners each week. LOVE the concept. Everything is fresh or in season and no preservatives. I like that very much. They also include the calorie count so you can decide how to manipulate the menu if needed. There are Classic (3 meats, 1 fish, 1 veggie meal each week), Gluten Free, and Vegetarian menus available. Full review will follow my first full week on the plan.  

So there you have it. Our updated perspective goals. I’m happy with where we are and looking forward to accomplishing more.

Leave a Reply

